top of page
Search

Now is the time for me to listen and learn

Over the past few weeks we have seen many aspects of our world made visible. These aspects have always been in our world but are often hidden or ignored.

We have seen graphic images of murder, racism, anger, determination and hope.

As a white women I haven’t earnt the right to speak on many of these matters. My privileged white positioning influences my understanding. I read, see, hear, empathise with the impacts of racisms. But I don't personally experience racism. Therefore my role is to listen deeply, wholeheartedly and not remain silent when I hear words and actions of injustice. My role is learn...deeply learn and be prepared to be transformed by this learning.

There are many wonderful scholars and friends who have and continue to help me to learn. Thank you for your patience and willingness to share with me. My ignorance adds to your burden and for this I am sorry. Your graciousness to continue to educate me despite this burden is my gift and I am deeply grateful.

So, this weekend lets take some time to educate ourselves .... maybe start with Dr Jones...



In solidarity and on a path of learning

Jess x

32 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page